Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Project Woe-way

I had high hopes that I'd be able to bring you some great project updates today... Instead, I'll tell you the story of Project Woe-way.

I was excited to receive the much-anticipated
Preval Spray Gun on Friday, so I thought a painting session might be in order.

I promised an objective review once I had tested the sprayer, so here goes...
I wasn't too impressed with The Sprayer. We tested it on (the backside) of Avery's headboard. We thinned the paint as recommended, but the effect was still very stippled (i.e. "orange peel")
Perhaps, it would be better for a smaller project, or maybe even with a water-based paint, but in summary, I'm gonna have to give it a thumbs down if you're looking for an even somewhat professional finish. I'm still not pleased with the shade of blue, either...but that's not the sprayer's fault!
Moving on... Did I ever tell you I ordered a cute, vinyl wall decal from an Etsy seller? It too arrived, Friday, so we tried to put it up. The directions weren't too clear, but Ben is patient and perfectionist - still, this had him frustrated.
First, the decal didn't want to part from the backing paper, and it stretched and pulled in the areas around her name. We finally succeeded in removing the backing, carefully placing the decal on the wall while using a ruler to "iron" it out as we went. It was to no avail - it turned into a bubbled and wrinkled mess.
Too bad, too, because it would've been so cute! I've emailed the seller about the predicament - she's offered another decal for a discounted price, but I don't know....Your thoughts?

I feel like Spaulding in Caddyshack: "Double Turds!!!"

...And, last but not least, I'm still trying to find coordinating fabrics to use in Avery's room. I was happy to find a hot pink ikat pillow on
Fabricadabra. My thought was to replace the (yes, hideous) pillow on the rocker. It would've been a vast improvement for the chair, but the color of the ikat doesn't work with her bedding - it's hard to tell in this pic, but the ikat has a hint more purple. And, anyway - silk in a toddler's room isn't very practical.
I'd love to use one of these Quadrille choices, but think they are cost-prohibitive...
So....I'm back at Square One on several projects, but I'm certain these twists in the design road will lead to ultimate d├ęcor bliss!!

25 comments:

Linda at Lime in the Coconut! said...

Bummer about the sprayer and the decal. If the decal wasn't too expensive (although I think for goodwill you should get it for free)I would try one more time.

Love those two pillow fabrics! And the duvet looks great too!

Hey...I ordered one of the etsy pillowcases for my daughter...thanks for the tip!

Karen@StrictlySimpleStyle said...

Sorry that the decal didn't work out. I really appreciate it when a blogger gives information that can save me some trouble (and if it saves me cash, all the better!)

Carrie said...

The decal and ikat pillow are so cute!!! Sorry they didn't work out, but please keep us posted.

ms. less is always more said...

bummer, bummer, bummer! Don't you hate when the stars just align all wrong! Back to the drawing board, I guess. But knowing you, it will be amazing!

The Townhouselady said...

First I love the prints.

Second, A discounted second decal??? So the first one didn't work, now you want two bubbly defective decals? No thanks. I would push for a full refund as the product was defective and then take my business elsewhere.

Too bad too because the decal is adorable!

Mrs. Limestone said...

Shouldn't the seller offer you another decal for free if there was something wrong with this one? Pretty bad business on her part. (Or maybe the next one will be just like this one and the same problem to hang?)

mintagehome said...

bummer on both the paint and the decal. That seller should not just offer you a discount. They should offer a refund for the full price. You'll find the perfect fabric, and then the day you order it, you'll find something else. At least that's what happens to me. Good Luck!

Style Redux 2 said...

I did several large decals for my daughter's apartment and they came out gorgeous-the fireplace photo and hallway even appeared on Domino's website. You need to peel a bit of the backing off and attach and smooth, a bit more and smooth, etc. You absolutely cannot take the whole backing off and attach to the wall. Did you do this and did these directions come with it? As I said, I did a fireplace, a hallway, and a large piece on the ceiling-which was not easy and NO bubbles-perfect. Hope this helps-I suspect it was a matter of your technique and not defective, in case you want to try it again.

Sarah - La Jeune Marie said...

Oh darn! Well, if it helps... I do love the peacock fabric for the pillow!

my favorite and my best said...

darn that sprayer!!! turds...triple turds! the blue looks pretty to me...but then again it is a pic...and as for the decal..i think you need to get another one for free.

Taylor said...

that stinks about the decal! I wouldn't buy another...maybe spell out her name in mix and match fabric samples?? you could make a big one and frame it or frame each letter.

Morning T said...

I'm so sorry about your project mishaps. I still have black spray paint on my fingers from my little weekend project and I actually thought about your new sprayer contraption. Glad I didn't rush out to get one.

I love that pink Ikat print for the pillow. If the price of the decal is right and if she was able to give you some helpful advice on applying (something you didn't try the first time) I would consider taking her up on her offer.

sarah @ realestatestyle said...

that stinks about the sprayer...I love all the fabric choices

LindsB said...

Don't you hate it when you have a great idea in your head and it just doesnt pan out- it drives me NUTS!!

Sorry about the sprayer, I hope you find a better option. And I love the fabrics you picked out, isnt that darn price tag such a downer- I find that problem all the time :)

Haven and Home said...

Oh no, I am sorry to hear about the projects. I hate when things go awry! Seeing those fabrics made a little voice in the back of my head say I was forgetting to do something for you. Are you waiting for anything from me? E-mail if so, I think I have forgotten something! If not, just ignore this!!!!

Averill said...

I've had similar issues with vinyl decals -- no matter how careful I am, I've never been able to get all the bubbles out...maybe it makes sense just to use the decal as a pattern and trace/paint it on the wall directly?

I'm sorry to hear about the setbacks...while trial and error is part of the design game, it sure is frustrating!

Anonymous said...

Free decal? Why? It wasn't defective, just installed incorrectly. It seems to me that if you were unclear about the instructions and you went ahead with the installation anyways than you're at fault, not the seller. People should be more aware of what their talking about before they start asking for free items because of lack of instruction. I would take the seller up on the discounted item and get better instructions.

High-Heeled Foot in the door said...

Oh no sweetie! So sorry to hear about all the design problems you had this weekend. That stinks, but I'm sure it will all come together!

I'll keep my eyes out for some pillow fabric!

laurie @ bargain hunting said...

That decal is sooo great! But how terrible that it didn't go on the wall well! That must have been so frustrating. I think another decal should be sent to you at no cost. You have had several mishaps. Things HAVE to get better! laurie

Rachel said...

I am happy to know I am not the only one who doesn't complete a project with the simplicity and ease that the blog world portrays! haha I do love the pink ikat fabric...very fun

Elise said...

Hi, lovely post ! I really like your blog, thank you so much for sharing it ! Best wishes and lovely to meet you

ABS said...

http://www.modeconomysale.com/thparolipish.html

Check out the Modern Economy Sample Sale. Only another 24 hours!!!

Melissa Stover said...

disappointing about the sprayer.

Stephanie Sabbe said...

I would totally want my money back on the decal!! I hope I have a little girl one day. I LOVE pink

Eve said...

The decal doesn't have to be that hard! Check out our decals and our wall art. Our durable reusable fabric wall stickers are a great decorating option. We have many designs to choose from including entire theme rooms! All you need to do is peel and stick! Our stickers are safe for your family and can be taken down and reapplied. Check out our great designs and exciting product line at http://www.simplistickhome.com/eve. You will love them!! Also, our stickers are printed in the USA!